Parent Page: Inductions id: 31390 Active Page: Inductee Detailsid:31412


Henry A. Spille

Henry A. Spille

Hall of Fame Class of 2000

Henry Spille is recognized for his distinguished service to adult and continuing education. His efforts in the translation of workplace training and experience into higher education academic credits are remarkable. He served as the foremost advocate for adult secondary and post secondary education at the National Center for Higher Education and led in the development and maintenance of the long lasting partnership between civilian education and the Department of Defense.

He is acclaimed for his contributions while Vice President (1987 - 1996) of the American Council on Education (ACE) and Director of ACE's Center for Adult Learning and Educational Credentials. His development of this center led the way in developing high quality learning and credentialing opportunities for adults. Founded in 1942, it pioneered the evaluation of education and training attained outside the classroom. His work there resulted in helping adult education gain visibility, validity, and respect throughout the world.

As Director of Academic Assistance Programs, at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, he was a pioneer in developing programs for awarding college credit for prior learning. While Project Director of ACE's Military Occupational Feasibility Study, he made it possible for millions of service members to receive college credit for demonstrated occupational proficiency. As Director of the GED Testing Program at ACE, he provided leadership that makes it possible for adults to have a second chance to acquire a high school diploma.

Dr. Spille has received many awards and honors including the Outstanding Service Award of the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (1993); Tilton Davis, Jr., Military Educator of the Year Award (1996); President's Award for Exceptional and Innovative Leadership in Adult and Continuing Education (1996); Empire State Distinguished Leadership in Adult Learning Award (1996); and the James F. Nickerson Medal of Merit from Servicemembers Opportunity Colleges (1997).